Florida Strawberry Sinkhole Cake

image Did I mention that in my seventh decade, I am determined to learn to cook, to try new recipes, new techniques, to experiment? Well, as you can see clearly from the picture, not all cooking experiments yield the intended results. I am calling this Experiment: Florida Strawberry Sink Hole Cake. For several weeks I had seen recipes combining Angel Food Cake Mix with Regular Cake Mix on Facebook, my primary source for new recipes. They suggested combining the two dry mixes in a large ziplock bag and when you wanted a low calorie (80/serving) treat taking 3 tablespoons of the mixture, stirring in 2 tablespoons of water and zapping it for 1 minute in the microwave. Well, I got this brilliant or as it turned out not so brilliant, bordering on stupid, idea that I could combine the two, add water and bake at 350 degrees for 35 minutes in a roasting pan to get a lighter Strawberry Cake…Voila!! Florida Strawberry Sink Hole Cake. On the positive side, it tastes pretty good, which makes up somewhat for the VISUAL PRESENTATION. Perhaps I need a real cooking class or at least stick to the instructions…BUT Heck! What fun is that at Seventy?

Leave a Reply

