For Caregivers

Lately a number of folks here in Walden Shores have experienced illness, hospitilizations, surgeries, rehab and so have their spouses, children, and others who accept the role of  caregiver.  As a writer this almost feels like cheating, because I published this on another site back in September, 2014.  A dear musically gifted friend even set it to music, but I lack the technique skills to share that here.

No matter what time in life the label “Caregiver” gets attached,  there are moments when you want to quit, hang it up, crawl into a cave and scream like Elijah: “What did I do to deserve this, God?”  Then the answer comes not in the quaking earth around you, not in the wind that threatens to blow you away, but in a whisper, “because you are loved and because you love.”  Love it seems brings us to our knees in wonder, in exhileration, and in the time of our greatest pain.

It is not when we are loved, but when we love that the human being is most fulfilled.

So here is the post from September, 2014:

image

For anyone who has had the opportunity to be a caregiver, especially husbands and wives who have loved their spouse or other loved one through a difficult time, illness, loss of job, loss of a child or parent, loss of home…WHATEVER! This came to me as I remembered when Terry was diagnosed with cancer:

Let me love you through this time
Let me take your hand in mine
Give you shelter from the storm
Be your purchase, keep you warm

Loving you when times are bleak
Gives me strength when I am weak
Gives me courage now to speak
“Loving you is all I seek.”

Yesterdays don’t matter now.
Couldn’t fix them, if I knew how
I cannot take back my sins
Be the one I should have been.

But I can love you through this time
I can take your hand in mine
Find our way through this storm
Cover you and keep you warm.

The news is awful that is true
The fear it causes courses through
A mighty wind it rages and it shatters
Opens my eyes to what really matters.

Let me love you through this time
Let me take your hand in mine
Carry you through this storm
Cover you and keep you warm.

Loving you when times are bleak
Gives me strength when I am weak
Gives me courage now to speak
“Loving you is all I seek.”

Let me love you through this time
Let me take your hand in mine
Give you shelter from the storm
Be your purchase, keep you warm

One thought on “For Caregivers

Leave a Reply

